“Take to the oars..”

“I would not send a poor girl into the world, ignorant of the snares that beset her path; nor would I watch and guard her, till, deprived of self-respect and self-reliance, she lost the power or the will to watch and guard herself .”Anne Bronte


I’ve been thinking about self-reliance a lot lately.  Maybe because we are, at our house, in the very beginning of some new endeavors, new “projects” I call them, wild and some would say crazy ideas to bump up our income.  No, no, nothing illegal.  We want to start a business, and maybe that’s crazy in this critically ill economy, but what the heck, we can’t just curl up.

It’s a scary thing, in a way, to be self-reliant.  You aren’t at all sure what your self is capable of.  You aren’t certain how hard you’re willing to work, and though you’d like to think that “I’ll do whatever it takes!”, you know that you just plain get tired sometimes.  You hope, and believe, that your self can be trusted and depended upon, and so you proceed.

Your gut instinct tells you that this is the only option.  Any dependence on others, whether it be family, friends, or government, is not acceptable to you.  (“Dependence” meaning permanent support, which is different from temporary assistance)  Whether it’s starting a business, or seeking a better job, or performing your existing job on a higher level in hopes of getting that promotion, or getting more or different education to advance in your career or launch yourself into a brand new one—this is how you were brought up.  This is what your parents did, and your grandparents, and their parents and grandparents before them.

You want to do this because, while uncertainty lies ahead, and you might fail, you also might just succeed.  And if you do succeed, your potential is unlimited.  If you fail, you fail, and learn some lessons, and get up and have another go at it.  Because you know, deep down, that success is possible.  And if it’s possible for some, then it’s possible for you.

Sometimes life events place you on an altogether strange and unfamiliar path, one not taken for increased wealth, but for pure survival.

I read a wonderful post Thanksgiving day, that I found on Michelle Malkin’s site.  A woman named Jennifer had written to Michelle talking about her own family’s experience with sudden unexpected hard times, and what they had learned from it.  Please read about Jennifer and her family, who sold their nice home and moved to a different state with a lower cost of living, bought a fixer-upper farm, and started walking down an unfamiliar path.  A path which led to deeper love, joy, and inner strength.  I’ve also linked to Jennifer’s own blog, wonderful reading, and I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

I applaud people like Jennifer and her family, and all the many, many other folks like them.  They inspire me, just as memories of my grandfather have inspired me throughout my life.  A man who saved for and finally  bought a bit of land so that he and his family could move from share-cropper to farmer.

Jennifer, all my best wishes to you and your family, and may God bless you.

“If the wind will not serve, take to the oars.”–Latin proverb




5 Comments

Filed under American life, Conservative Principles

5 responses to ““Take to the oars..”

  1. successforrealpeople

    There are a few predictors of whether or not you can be successful at starting a business:

    1. Whether or not you believe you can succeed;
    2. Whether you quit to soon or not;
    3. If you have your goal written down or not.

    Believe that you will succeed, do not quit before you succeed and write your goal down with steps to take and a completion date.

    Best wishes to you and your family as you move forward towards being self-reliant!

    Denise
    http://www.successforrealpeople.wordpress.com

  2. Thanks Denise, for your visit and your comment. I agree with you on your predictors of success.

    I hope you’ll return from time to time and please comment anytime!
    Pup

  3. Hi Pup!
    Thanks for the nice compliment, but I feel that rather than do anything unique, we did exactly as you have written.

    Of course we have failed(we knew nothing of this life)! Our first chicken coop vs. the recent one are miles apart. I confess that scared on the inside and brave on the outside is my life.

    You see the physical stuff is not possible for my husband anymore- so the teens and I do it all. Now I had a life typical of most middle class Americans, a life of dining out, mall trips, manicures, haircuts(done by a pro instead of husband-all the while worried he will do irreparable damage), and on and on.

    I never have been around goats, sheep, or ducks at all, and my experiences of chickens are horrible as the rooster attacked me!

    But for the children I *pretend* I know what I am doing, and for the love of my life who at 40(6’4″ 200lbs) no longer is able. It has become my turn to stand up and remind him that I married him, not the money…nor the lifestyle.

    And that is quite possibly the secret.

    Praying that you and yours had a lovely holiday!
    Jennifer

    *and for a major chuckle -I was true greenhorn! I found a male goat for sale in the area for a very low price, bought it loaded him in the truck extremely proud of myself…and to my chagrin(which husband laughed out loud) was that my handsome buck…was fixed!!!!! As a farm wife I have had to ignore the indelicacies and make sure all parts are connected and in place~
    Jen

  4. Jennifer,
    I am so pleased that you visited, and left such a nice comment!

    Ahh, roosters. I have been scared to death of them ever since one flogged me good when I was just a little girl. I’ve never forgotten the feel of that rooster attacking my back as I was trying to run away, screaming my little head off.

    You are truly learning an entirely new way of life. It sounds though, that you are doing it with strength and outward self-assurance for your children, and inner reliance on God.

    I’m proud to have had this conversation with you; I hope you’ll visit again sometime, and please, comment anytime.
    Pup

  5. Good luck on your new endeavor pup. What a great new adventure. I started a business a few years ago, I guess intending to be part time. I don’t really make a lot of money, and at this point it’s not hurting us that it isn’t, but I would like to see it start making some serious money at some point. I am doing something I love and am good at. It’s in retail sales and teaching. If you want to see what I do, check out my sites. They are listed on the page at http://www.katherinesands.com.

Leave a Reply

